Restoring a Ballard Pacific #5

Anything to do with gun smithing.
Jim D
Distinguished Expert

Restoring a Ballard Pacific #5

Post by Jim D »

I did a post under "Lever guns" on restoring an 1889 Deluxe, so with a little encouragement from Vall Miller, decided to do one here. I'd like to start by saying that I am a complete novice when it comes to Ballards. I have been trying to educate myself over the last few weeks, and have bought John Dutcher's book which I HIGHLY recommend. Doing this restoration RIGHT would not be possible without the help that I've received from fellow members Vall Miller and Rick Regnier. Thanks guys!!!

Years ago I bought a Ballard action at a local gunshow. I had no idea what model it was, I just figured that someday I would learn a little and make something with it. It turns out that it is a #5 Pacific model. (Talk about dumb luck!) The action is complete with the exception of the extractor. My plan with this restoration is to completely refinish it, including color case hardening, then send it off to Dale Woody in November for engraving. Dale will be doing the Pacific pattern that he shows on his website. Before I send it to Dale I will have to anneal the frame and repolish it, and recase it when I get it back.

The first thing I did was to mount a new barrel. I'm going to skip this stuff until later and start with the wood.

Once the barrel was installed, I made the forearm. I used the vertical mill to cut the octagonal barrel channel. The wiping rod channel was cut using a 1/4" round tip router bit. Th recess in the frame for the wiping rod is slightly lower than the bottom flat of the barrel so that the wiping rod channel has to be sloped.