Marlin 1897

Anything to do with Rimfire guns

Moderators: Regnier (gunrunner), JohnK, Sure-Shot

Mike Faires
Pro-Marksman

Marlin 1897

Post by Mike Faires »

I just saw pictures of an 1897 that I found confusing. Tang is marked "Model 1897" with a six pointed star on the tang. Stock is pistol gripped. Serial number is A or 4xxxx. The stock has the Marlin Bullseye in the bottom. i know the star means an up graded gun thus the the pistol grip stock but I thought the bullseye was not used until much later than this gun should be. Also the serial number if 47xxx is too early for an 1897 and I didn't think alpha prefixes were used during this period. However, I am still learning.
oodmoff
Marksman

Post by oodmoff »

This could have been a early gun from the marlin corporation that came from parts that marlin rockwell had acquired..
Thanks
Darin
marlinman93
Distinguished Expert

Post by marlinman93 »

The star does NOT mean an upgraded gun. The star was simply a final inspection mark used during the 1920's by the new Marlin Fireams Co. All guns from that period got this star.
As for the configuration, you are right, it is very strange to find guns from this time period with the options listed! I don't believe I've ever seen a 1897 made with a bullseye in the stock? The 1897 and '97 were both discontinued before WWI. Is it possible there was one more digit to the serial number, 4xxxxx? That would make it before WWI date.
Marlin lever actions 1870's-WWI, Ballards, and single shot rifles!
Ultona
Marksman

Post by Ultona »