Model 1889 44-40 short mag pics

What the name implies

Moderators: Regnier (gunrunner), JohnK, Sure-Shot

Savvy Jack
Beginner

Model 1889 44-40 short mag pics

Post by Savvy Jack »

Hi all. I just ran across this forum and wanted to join up and share my rifle with you. I am 40 years old and my dad handed his 44-40 down to me after having it for 47 years. My dad told me the gun was originally purchased by his brother in 1960 and my dad gave him a $40 pistol to aid in my uncle purchasing the rifle. He still does not know the total price that was paid. However, shortly afterward my uncle gave the gun to my dad. So my dad had $40 in the gun...lol

I am still learning about this old rifle and am beginning to enjoy every minute of it. I have lots of questions so I hope you can bare with me while I research the forum before boring you guys to death with my questions.

The SN# seams to make this an 1892 manufacture date. I was wondering if I can shoot modern loads or if you can tell me what I need to use. Knock me over the head if I don't even need to think about shooting it. I dont want to shoot black powder due to the mess and rust that it causes if not properly cleaned. I hear its a real pain to clean black powder. I thought about selling it but several guys convinced me to keep it and said I could shoot modern CowBoy Loads.

Also, it has a short magazine and I can not find any evidence that it was cut down. I have looked the barrel over with a magnified glass and can not find any dovetail fillings....so thats what I was told I would find if it wasa field modification.

Thanks!

To see more pics, visit the photobucket link.
http://s44.photobucket.com/albums/f36/C ... n%2044-40/

Last edited by Savvy Jack on Wed Jul 04, 2007 12:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regnier (gunrunner)
Distinguished Expert

Post by Regnier (gunrunner) »

Curtisp6ehawk;