Newbie with 1898 or 16 ? ?

Anything Shot Gun related

Moderators: Regnier (gunrunner), JohnK, Sure-Shot

trelk743
Beginner

Newbie with 1898 or 16 ? ?

Post by trelk743 »

Hello all, I'm a newbie with some questions that searches haven't answered

I have a 'New to Me' shotgun I think is 1898 or 16, it is 16 ga. I bought it 'For Parts' last week at Gunbroker. Ser # 61663, barrel #64022F. Pat. are Nov 6 1894 May & June 1896. Two line roll stamped. Top of barrel by receiver is stamped 16.Ga. Nothing about smokeless steel. It has push button bolt release and magazine take down.
Is 1903-4 approximate dom?

When I received the gun the knob on the action bar was not engaged with the bolt. The knob was to large to get out of the receiver and I ground off some material to get action bar out. I can't imagine how it got in that way or what happened to get it out of shape, anyway. The action bar was not straight and had twist. I improved the straightness of the bar, smoothed the knob and assembled the action.

I now have action bar and bolt traveling together and working it with no lube. The strength needed to work the action is very high. It's moderate until the shell lifter rotates, then it is rather stiff. I am working it without a forend, which is in 3 pieces and was wired onto the magazine when purchased.

So, how would you rate the force typically needed to work this action. ?

I have a Rem 17 and Savage 520 that might be 20 to 30 years younger that this 1898. They are no different than an 870.

Also, a 16 ga shell in the chamber has a lot of slop. I measure the chamber Dia at .753 and a new shell is .7425 with my cheap micrometer.
I estimate the chamber is 3 inches deep. I suspect it was reamed and deepened.
I want to shoot it a little. Would you shoot it ?

Thanks to the moderators for all the work you do here.
Regnier (gunrunner)
Distinguished Expert

Re: Newbie with 1898 or 16 ? ?

Post by Regnier (gunrunner) »

Trelk743;