Determined - No 3 Ballard - 22rf

Ballards

Moderators: Regnier (gunrunner), JohnK, Sure-Shot

John Boy
Beginner

Determined - No 3 Ballard - 22rf

Post by John Boy »

... Was the No 2 in 22rf special order or a standard factory caliber?
Rifle Details and Noted Differences:
* Model No 2 - 65xx, matching parts
* 26" octagon barrel - no caliber marking - plain front and rear sight (not a blade or buckhorn)
* No extractor or extractor cut
* Forearm - has a triangular ebony piece cut in the Schnabel end
I'm new to Ballards and couldn't find a 22rf listed as a standard caliber. Thanks kindly for your help
Last edited by John Boy on Sun Mar 29, 2009 7:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regards
John Corney
Regnier (gunrunner)
Distinguished Expert

Re: No 2 Ballard - 22rf

Post by Regnier (gunrunner) »

John;

If this Ballard looks like a Number 2 Sporting Rifle and is a factory original .22 caliber gun, then it most likely is a Number 3 Gallery Rifle. There is also a Number 3 Pistol Grip and a Number 3F, Fine Gallery Rifle, all in .22 caliber.
If you are going to get interested in Ballard rifle, you need to get a copy of John Dutcher's book, Ballard, The Great American Single Shot Rifle. John spent 20 years gathering information to put this book together, and it is by far, one of the best gun books out there when it comes to information and pictures. It is one of my favorites.
I hope this helps.
Due to the increasing cost of ammunition, there will be no warning shot!

The growing federal deficit = generational slavery to the national debt.

If the world was perfect.......it wouldn't be.
marlinman93
Distinguished Expert

Post by marlinman93 »

John Boy wrote:... Was the No 2 in 22rf special order or a standard factory caliber?
Rifle Details and Noted Differences:
* Model No 2 - 65xx, matching parts
* 26" octagon barrel - no caliber marking - plain front and rear sight (not a blade or buckhorn)
* No extractor or extractor cut