No. 6-1/2 Ballard Rigby ... what caliber?

Ballards

Moderators: Regnier (gunrunner), JohnK, Sure-Shot

JoJoDo
Beginner

No. 6-1/2 Ballard Rigby ... what caliber?

Post by JoJoDo »

Hello All,

I am new to this sight. I just purchased a Ballard No. 6-1/2 with a 28" Rigby barrel. The rifle is in very good overall condition with a very good bore. It is serial number 264X. I have looked at a few books but am confused if the caliber is .40-63? ... or .40-65? There are no caliber markings on the barrel or under the forearm. Any help is greatly appreciated. Also if anyone knows where I can find a few original cartridges for display that would be helpful too. I would like to get some new brass, moulde, dies etc and have this at the range in the Spring. Thank you, Joe

Jim D
Distinguished Expert

Re: No. 6-1/2 Ballard Rigby ... what caliber?

Post by Jim D »

JoJoDo,

Do a Cerro-Safe casting of the chamber. It is the best way to determine what you have. Cerro-Safe is available from Brownells.com. Check it out and let me know if you need help.

-jim
Regnier (gunrunner)
Distinguished Expert

Post by Regnier (gunrunner) »

Joe;

According to John Dutcher in his Ballard book, on pages 308 & 309, the .40-65 and .40-63 Ballard Everlasting cartridge both measure 2 3/8 inches in length. Both cartridges were used in the 6 1/2 Rigby Ballard rifles.
Due to the increasing cost of ammunition, there will be no warning shot!

The growing federal deficit = generational slavery to the national debt.

If the world was perfect.......it wouldn't be.
JoJoDo
Beginner

Post by JoJoDo »

Thank you guys. I may have to rely on a chamber cast. Can anyone tell me how to post photos please?
Sure-Shot
Distinguished Expert

Post by Sure-Shot »

Host them online in a place such as Photobucket, which has a free version. Once hosted click on the link that starts [img]urlherenospaces[/img] then paste it in your post.
GBOT, GBUSA
marlinman93
Distinguished Expert

Post by marlinman93 »