Marlin 1895 Deluxe 26 inch 45-90 Year 1900

Any questions related to guns

Moderators: Regnier (gunrunner), JohnK, Sure-Shot

bigbuck
Beginner

Marlin 1895 Deluxe 26 inch 45-90 Year 1900

Post by bigbuck »

Dear all :D

I am Tom from Bavaria and since the 1970 an average target shooter with a bunch of different tools for punching holes in paper at 25/50 and 100 meters

This weekend a Bavarian shooting buddy offered the a.m. rifle.

Because i am new to Marlins may i ask for some help.
What are the critical points i should check before considering to buy?
I do not need killer loads, i prefer loads for 100 meter target range
What loads/bullets do you recomend therefore? I have the following powders on hand: VVn320, VVn330, VVn340, Trail Boss Swiss RS20 and BP Swiss3
Express loads sound good as well

Finally what is a reasonable price if the Marlin is technical 100% ok and the bore as fine as it can be after so many years??

P.S. As soon as i have some pictures i will add...
Many thanks for your kind advice

greetings from sunny Bavaria

Tom
Brent
Sharpshooter

Re: Marlin 1895 Deluxe 26 inch 45-90 Year 1900

Post by Brent »

Over here, that rifle would be at a huge premium. A deluxe, square bolt marlin of any kind is in the multiple thousands of dollars. A 95 si at the top of the heap and a .45-90 the very pinnacle of desirability in my opinion. With an excellent bore and all original and the exterior in reasonable condition, I cannot imaging less than $3000 and I suspect that would be laughed at by any knowledgeable seller over here.

If you go on Guns International you may see a few similar rifles and, from that, judge accordingly. But I think you are looking at a very desirable and valuable rifle. If you get it, pictures are a must!