Marlin 39A Serial Number

This is an area for guests to post questions

Moderators: Regnier (gunrunner), JohnK, Sure-Shot, Marlin

Forum rules
I have unlocked this forum but made it read only for non members -- Webmaster --
boot1978
Beginner

Marlin 39A Serial Number

Post by boot1978 »

I acquired a nice Model 39A from its original owner who passed away last year at age 92. While it didn't see much use in its latter days, you could tell he hunted it often when younger. As old as it is, as you would expect it is as accurate, smooth and tight as ever - a beautiful piece of work. My problem is with the serial number - there is no prefix. The number "259" is stamped below the lever and on two locations internal... but they all are just "259". The stock has an uncapped pistol grip, and the barrel, marked 39A, does not specify "mico-groove". As I look at the bore, it appears Ballard, but I am no expert. The receiver would be better described as black rather than blue.... it is not case. Process of elimination identifies it as a 3rd model - 1st generation, however there is a white spacer between the molded buttplate and the wood. I am wondering if this could possibly be a "transitional" piece made right after the war, using a 39 receiver with the then new Ballard barrel. I'm sure the original owner did not modify the rifle - and he certainly wouldn't have added an older barrel anyway.... I am perplexed, and have researched everywhere to no avail. Does anyone have any experience or ideas in this regard. I really would like to be able to identify my rifle. I have attempted to attach a few pics. Thanks for any help!
Regnier (gunrunner)
Distinguished Expert

Re: Marlin 39A Serial Number

Post by Regnier (gunrunner) »

Boot1978;