Lever gun identification

Anything to do with Rimfire guns

Moderators: Regnier (gunrunner), JohnK, Sure-Shot

BAO
Beginner

Lever gun identification

Post by BAO »

Good evening folks. Newbie here. I just picked up an old .22 rifle and think it is a model 1897 but want to confirm. There is a tang sight on it that may be covering a model number??? It is a full length octagon barrel with pistol grip. The serial number is 5672. It is a takedown model as well. Thanks for any info or ideas. BAO
Regnier (gunrunner)
Distinguished Expert

Re: Lever gun identification

Post by Regnier (gunrunner) »

BAO;

A .22 caliber, octagon barrel rifle with a 4 digit serial number, without prefix sounds like a Model 39. Check the barrel markings to see if the company is designated as the Marlin Firearms Corporation. If it is, it is a Model 39, not a Model 1897/'97.
Due to the increasing cost of ammunition, there will be no warning shot!

The growing federal deficit = generational slavery to the national debt.

If the world was perfect.......it wouldn't be.
marlinman93
Distinguished Expert

Post by marlinman93 »

And remove the tang sight to see what model designation is under it too!
Marlin lever actions 1870's-WWI, Ballards, and single shot rifles!
BAO
Beginner

Post by BAO »

So, I removed the tang sight and found the ‘Model 39’ designation. I assume that the tang sight was aftermarket? Also, a couple more questions please:

1) The rear sight is missing and I would like to replace it. Can someone post a picture of the sight that would have been on the rifle?
2) I disassembled the rifle to clean it-very gummed up! I found that the magazine spring was not compressed. In other words it was stretched out full length in the inner magazine tube. Are there any schematics available that will assist me in correcting this.